Total Pageviews

Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Analyse the role of the Five Pillars in passing on muslim beliefs.


  1. Irone Thompson-Davis 1PR2November 8, 2010 at 11:56 AM

    The Five Pillars of Islam is expressed in the Quran (Koran), which is a practical doctrine that encourages Muslims to pray 5 times a day, fast during Ramadan, pilgrimage to Mecca, declare 'There is no god but God, and Muhammad is his prophet' and pay money to the poor.The Five Pillars of Islam is the term given to the fundamental aspects of Islam. These five pillars are the most important obligations of a Muslim under Sharia law, and which devout all Muslims will perform faithfully, because they are essential to pleasing Allah.

    The Five Pillars of Islam are:

    "Shahadah": The Testimony that there is none worthy of worship except God and that Muhammad is his messenger.
    " Salah": Establishing of the five daily Prayers (salah).
    " Zakat": The Giving of Zakaah (charity), which is one fortieth (2.5%) of the net worth of possessions kept for more than a year, with few exemptions, for every Muslim whose wealth exceeds the nisab, and 10% or 20% of the produce from agriculture. This money or produce is distributed among the poor.
    " Ramadhan": Fasting from dawn to dusk in the month of Ramadan (sawm).
    " Hajj": The Pilgrimage (Hajj) to Mecca during the month of Dhul Hijjah, which is compulsory once in a lifetime for one who has the ability to do it.
    NOTE: For the Shi'a a sect of Islam, the Five Pillars, or more correctly translated "the principles of religion", are the five fundamental principles of Islam; no more, no less. The Shi'a sect consider the Sunni five pillars to be merely the most important obligations rather than these being the Five Pillars of Islam

  2. The five pillars of Islam are important in passing on Muslims beliefs.They are used to regulate Muslims relationship with god and also provide guidelines for how Muslims must operate on a daily basis. The five pillars are Shahadah, Salat, Zakat,Sawm and Hajj.
    The Shahadah is a declaration of faith declaring Allah as the only god and Muhammad is his prophet.This statement is repeated several times during day,and even when a Muslim is dying.The Shahadah is the fundamental belief of the Islam religion.
    The Salat is a compulsory prayer that is done five times daily by Muslims over the age of ten.The purpose of the Salat is to ask Allah for guidance and to seek strength to live good with others.The salat also acts as a reminder of Allah throughout the day and theirs rediness to accept the path set out by him.
    The Zakat which means purification, allows Mulims to contribute some of their wealth to charity.They are expected to contribute at least 2.5% of their yearly values to organizations and that money will help with the poor and needy, and with community projects. The Muslims believe that everything that they have achieved is as a result of their god so they see it as their duty to share with the less fortunate.
    The Sawm is a period of fasting. During the month of Ramadan ( ninth month), Muslims are not to eat, drink, smoke or indulge in sexual intercourse during daylight.This teaches self-control, restraint and sel-discipline. It also allows them to be more appreciative of the less fortunates.Muslims under the age of ten,the sick, old people, pregnant women and persons travelling on a journey are exempted from the fast. However, the persons on the journey must do their fasting at a later date.
    Last is the Hajj.Every year Muslims all over the world visits Mecca, the holy city. This pilgrimage provides them the opportunity to meet other Muslims from all over the world and theygather and worship as one.The Hajj which takes place during Dhu-al Hijjah ( twelfth month)last for fourteen days and during that period they get the opportunity to visit the Ka'ba, Abraham's Shrine as well as Mt. Arafat where Muhammad preached.Muslims consider the pilgrimage as an enriching experience.

  3. The 'Five Pillars' of Islam are the foundation of Muslim life. They are called five pillars because they are as essential in the faith of Islam as pillars essential for a building. Carrying out these obligations provides the framework of a Muslim's life, and weaves their everyday activities and their beliefs into a single cloth of religious devotion.Carrying out the Five Pillars demonstrates that the Muslim is putting their faith first, and not just trying to fit it in around their secular lives.

    The Five Pillars are:
    "The creed of Islam (SHAHADAH)
    There is no God but Allah, and Muhammad is his messenger." This is their declaration of faith stating their belief in only Allah and recognizing Muhammad as his prophet

    Prayer (SALAT)
    This is a prayer that is done five times daily. THis is where muslims ask for guidance, protection and the strength to live through everyday life.

    Almsgiving (ZAKAT)
    This is where muslims financial obligation to give 2.5% of their earning to the poor or to charity. It is regarded as a type of worship and of self-purification.

    Fasting (SAUM)
    A Muslim must fast for the month of Ramadan. During the fasting month, one must refrain from eating, drinking, smoking, and sexual intercourse from dawn until sunset.Muslims under the age of ten,the sick,the old, pregnant women and persons travelling on a journey are exempted from the fast. However, the persons on the journey must do their fasting at a later date.

    Pilgrimage (HAJJ)
    A Muslim must make a pilgrimage to Mecca. Every adult Muslim who is physically and financially able to do so must make this pilgrimage at least once in his or her lifetime.